“marilyn?” not quite.

So I already talked about this and this relating to recent Hollywood, but then I saw this article talking about the women at the Golden Globes today and I immediately thought, “series post #3!”

(source)

What do I think about this? I’m actually not sure yet which is why I’m going to open this up to you. What do you think after reading the article?

I tweeted my reaction saying that I was confused and had a good conversation with a fellow follower (say that 10 times fast!) and advocate about the tone. It’s awkward. It’s not negative in an “Ick, they gained weight” way, but it’s not positive either. They pointed out their arms, their “sexier curves” and the “amazingly… womanly roundness.”

Now, I’m glad their not saying anything too bad about it, but at the same time, I felt they went a little too far by saying they were more like Marilyn than Twiggy. Marilyn Monroe was about a size 8-12 by vintage sizes. Now sizing has changed, but two things to point out is 1. a size 10 is considered a “plus size” now and 2. her body was the ultimate hourglass figure. She had a small waist, but undeniably a chest and a butt (her measurements were supposedly 37C-24-35) and as this article puts it, she was a real life Jessica Rabbit).

(source)

Another thing we talked about was why the comparison in the first place? Frankly, I think the women look beautiful. They’re not unhealthfully thin, but look lean and glowing. Forget curves, forget weight or even a number on the scale. But think health! They actually looked healthy- how wonderful (for not only us to see, but for them)! So if someone finally looks healthy, why do we need to compare them to someone else?

It brings me back in a circle to watching your words and stopping the self-comparison and judging someone by their outward appearance. You can tell a lot about their appearance based on their face- do they glow? Do they look happy? Do they treat themselves well? But other that that, some people are healthy at a size 0 and others are healthy at a size 10. And no matter their size, no one should be judged or thought of primarily on their size or weight. That’s not who they are. They are the ____(fill in the blank)____ person you know and love. 🙂

So I bring it back to you and my original question, what do you think? Is this a good article or bad?

3 responses to ““marilyn?” not quite.

  1. Fab post! Thanks for the much less judgmental and positive perspective.

  2. Love this post. It is definitely refreshing to have a positive outlook. I like how you stay open minded and ask questions and really think about things before you write. I also appreciate your honesty – as I told you last night – I am still unsure about the original article – but so glad you wrote a non-judgmental open piece regarding it.

  3. Pingback: study progress « the sweetest thing

Leave a comment