call me soup girl

I have been on a soup feign lately. Warm, comforting and extremely easy makes them very enticing for my busy school schedule. They make for easy lunches or dinners and also can cook while I finish homework. Today’s was a roasted parsnip and turnip soup. yummmmm!

But first I also wanted to share my Whole Foods bill. I tell you, my method works. It’s all seasonal except for the raspberries, but they were on sale so I made the exception ;o) All of this was about $45:

grapes (2# box)

pears (3)

cranberries

raspberries (2 pints because they were on sale)

head of lettuce (1)

bunch of swiss chard (1)

bag of parsnips (1)

turnips (2)

leek (2)

sweet potato (1)

pork chop (6 oz)

eggs (1 dozen)

skim milk (1 qt)

oatmeal (I’m trying this new kind, Holly’s, that I’ve seen a few times and want to try, but usually I get it in bulk)

$45 might be a lot for you, but for me that was good. That will keep me eating for about a week- and I say that because I also have some things I cooked up a few days ago too like brussel sprouts and raw spinach that I didn’t include but had tonight.

Now, onto the soup… I’m going to try to write the recipe, but I did just make this up today so work with me. Have fun with the garnishes too! I just and with some honeyed nuts I had in the pantry.

Roasted Winter Vegetable Soup (serves 2-4)

1 leek, sliced

1/2 onion, sliced

2 turnips, peeled and diced

3 parsnips, peeled and diced

1/2 can butternut squash puree

1/4 cup pumpkin puree

1 quart of broth

2 cups of water

2 sprigs of thyme

6 oz of spinach (optional)

honeyed pecans for garnish (optional)

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 425.

2. Spray 1 or 2 baking sheets, depending on their size, with cooking spray. Put the diced turnip and parsnip on the sheet and toss in the cooking spray, salt and pepper. Roast for about 30 minutes.

3. While that’s roasting, heat a dutch oven or pot on medium heat. Add the sliced onion and sliced leek and saute until translucent.

4. When the parsnip and turnip is ready, add to the dutch oven.

5. Add 1 quart of vegetable broth or chicken broth and 2 cups of water. Add the two purees if you have them and want to use them. (I had them in my pantry so I thought why not? I’ll use the rest in omelets and frittatas). Toss in the thyme and cover.

6. Bring to a boil and then simmer until the vegetables are completely soft.

7. With a stick blender, blend the soup until smooth.

8. Put back on the burner and add spinach until wilted if you’d like. Enjoy!

2 responses to “call me soup girl

  1. Soup is such a versatile meal. – that recipe looks great!

    • thanks jessica! i had some for dinner tonight and was happy it came out well- haha! i love throwing things in a pot, but i also have to cross my fingers that it comes out ok :o)

Leave a Reply

