cozy day inside

So I woke up this morning to this:

DSC_0100

and all I wanted to be was here:

DSC_0101

Unfortunately that wasn’t in the cards for me today. Wednesday’s are usually my day to go to my internship for the whole day. I love my internship this semester and so it’s a nice break from classes and studying. However, I called my boss yesterday and took today off to get a lot of homework and writing done for my classes. Everything important (papers, tests, projects,etc.) is actually due BEFORE Thanksgiving this year so I’m scrambling now to finish up.

Speaking of scrambled, how do you like your eggs? I actually love mine scrambled and while I have perfected the way I like to make them (a little cream cheese, salt and pepper), they’re the best when my mom makes them for me when I go home.

Most of the time though, I have them in an omelet or frittata. That’s what I did this morning for a brunch-y type meal, but I’ll also make them for dinner a lot of times with either toasts or a salad. Salad with eggs? Yes, it may sound weird, but it gets veggies in and it’s the way I’m used to having eggs for dinner. When I was in Paris, it was a meal I got a lot- yummm!

Today’s frittata just used up some things I had in the fridge. Pumpkin/butternut squash puree left over from the soup, some swiss chard I bought the other day, thyme, onion, and goat cheese. One thing I should mention is I ALWAYS have goat cheese in my fridge. I love it!

Frittata (serves 1)

1 whole egg + 2 egg whites (or 2 whole eggs)

3-4 rounded tablespoons of butternut squash/pumpkin puree (I swirled them in a container after using them in the soup)

1-2 large swiss chard leaves, stemmed and washed

1/4 small onion, sliced

2 sprigs of thyme

1 oz goat cheese

Directions

1. Make sure your swiss chard is thoroughly washed. It’s a dirty plant! Shred the swiss chard into a a small pan. Heat on medium heat. Sprinkle with some salt and pepper and cover with a lid until wilted.

2. Once wilted, put in a small colander to cool.

3. In another bowl, break the eggs and add the puree. Whisk until they’re mixed together and the eggs are broken up. Clean the sprigs of thyme and add just the leaves to the eggs.

3. In the same pan, melt 1 teaspoon of butter over medium low heat.

4. Add sliced onion. Season with salt and pepper and cover with the lid again for 1-2 minutes. Uncover and stir every so often until they’re translucent.

5. Squeeze the swiss chard of excess moisture and then peel the shreds apart into the pan with the onion.

6. Add the egg mixture to the pan and completely cover the veggies.

7. Preheat the broiler.

8. Cook until the eggs are almost set. Crumble the goat cheese on top and put under the broiler until the eggs are completely set.

DSC_0096

9. Flip! and enjoy! 🙂

DSC_0097

Now some people tell me that that’s too much work. I love cooking and giving myself that break to do so, but you can whatever veggies, meat or cheese you want or you don’t even have to add anything at all. Once you got the method, you can change it whichever way you’d like!

Ok, back to the homework… wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

