upcoming excitement

I’m DONE!!! yayyy! I only have one more semester before I finally finish my undergraduate degree- ok, I know I’m a little slow… oh well!

So I told you I had exciting news and I do.

First, I’m helping out with Body Image Awareness Week at school this year. This coincides with the National Eating Disorders Association Awareness Week in February, but we call it “Body Image Awareness” to also incorporate body image issues and disordered eating. While thats exciting enough, I think my friend Patrick might be speaking that week- SWAGGER! He’s fabulous and I can’t wait. AND to kick it all off, I’m coordinating a NEDA Walk in Washington D.C.!!! Everyone is welcome, but it’ll probably be around the American University campus. I honestly can’t say more about it now because details have to get figured out, but I’ll keep you updated.

PS: if anyone’s in the D.C. area and wants to participate or even volunteer, please let me know. 🙂

If that’s not a good start to the semester, I have an exciting project to work on ALL SEMESTER! So as most of you know, and if you read my “About Me” page, you’d know that I want to one day incorporate my love of food, fashion and body image awareness. One of my friends said “Good luck!” To which I replied “Thank you.” However, when I told my PR Research teacher what I’d love to do in the future, she said “Why not do it now?” How is that for support???

Soooooooo I’m going to study the cross section of the fashion and food industries with body image and the how to promote a HEALTHY body image, not based on shape or size. From there, I have an awareness campaign in my head right now, but you’ll have to wait and see what happens from there. 🙂

Meanwhile, I’m ecstatic. I’m so happy I can cut out time to work on something I love and am passionate about (and get school credit!!!) It’s truly going to be a fabulous last semester and I can’t wait to share it with you!

Leave a Reply

