chili? stew? soup? you decide.

I was seriously craving chili last night, but since it was cold and I didn’t really feel like putting on all my snow gear (yup, I was being lazy), I decided to make baked ravioli (yummm) and save my chili cravings until I could make it at home.

My mom picked me up today and I promptly started on a recipe I had in my head. Now I love chili filled with meat, but sometime it can just be too much for me. I love my veggies so why not combine the two- a chili (stoup, soup, take your pick) with veggies and meat and beans. So that’s what I did.

Now before you tell me,  “Ewww, pumpkin and tomato together?” Trust me, it’s good. I got the inspiration when I went to Whole Foods before the snow storm on Friday and was getting hungry (it was around lunchtime) and knew I wouldn’t be in and out since half of NW DC was there with me. For lunch, I took a cup and filled it half way with their beef chili and half with their Triple Squash soup. Stirred it around and… delicious. Below is my version.

Pumpkin Chili (serves 6-8)

2  (15 oz) cans of pumpkin puree

1 (14.5 oz) can of Muir Glen diced tomatoes

1 (14.5 oz) can of Muir Glen fire-roasted diced tomatoes

1 (15 oz) can of pinto beans, rinsed

1# ground chicken

1 sliced onion, satueed

20 oz of cubed butternut squash

1 quart of chicken broth

1 packet of vegetarian chili mix (I just buy the Simply Organics brand that WF carries)

5 oz spinach (optional)

Directions

1. In a dutch oven over medium-low heat, add the sliced onion. Season with salt and saute until translucent.

2. Add the ground chicken and cook until cooked all the way through.

3. Add the pumpkin puree, tomatoes, pinto beans, cubed butternut squash, chicken broth and seasoning. Mix all together.

HINT: To not get lumps of seasoning in the soup, take the packet and mix it in a bowl with some chicken broth and then add them both to the pot.

4. Bring the chili/stoup/soup to a boil and then down to a simmer and cook until the squash is cooke through and soft, about 45 minutes.

5. If using, add the spinach at the end and stir to let it wilt before serving. (I love spinach, as you’ve probably noticed, so I add it whenever I can, but it’s fine without it.)

NOTE: If you like thicker, more meaty chili, I’d add a little bit more meat and another can of beans.

YUM!!! Personally, I loved it! And it fully satisfied my chili craving. It was a spicy, but I got a sweetness from the squash. If you like vegetables, then you’ll like this and if you’re vegetarian, just take out the chicken and add more beans. Fitting for everyone and perfect for a snowy weekend like we’ve had in DC/MD 🙂

Now it’s time to sit by the fire with these two…

Aren’t they the cutest?

What’s your favorite chili or soup?

One response to “chili? stew? soup? you decide.

  1. Sounds delicious 🙂 I love chili with squash!

Leave a Reply

