new york, new york

After a 6 hour train ride, I finally got to New York City today. I was grateful that I was traveling with Alex, but being my yourself during that wouldn’t have been fun.

If you haven’t heard, an Amtrak train hit a teen girl (who died) this morning while she was on her way to school. Why she was close enough to get hit, I’m not sure. Why people are starting to get hit by metro cars and Amtrak trains recently, I don’t know that either.

But, I’m here!!! I’m currently at my best friend’s studio apartment in the Financial District. It’s homey and so nice to be here with her. I’ve known her since kindergarten so she’s family, if you know what I mean.

Speaking of family though, below is a recipe that holds a special place in my heart and a family recipe- I think back to my great grandmother? It’s not healthy or nutritious, but its so good and sometimes, you just got to have that sweet! As you’ll see quickly, I’ve been on a chocolate fix lately… hmmm…

Chocolate Mousse (serves 4-6)

6 oz (1 cup) of chocolate chips

1 egg

2 egg yolks

2 egg whites

1 cup whipping cream

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Directions

1. Melt the chocolate chips over a double boiler slowly so it doesn’t burn. Cool to warm temperature.

2. Carefully, whisk the egg and egg yolks into the chocolate.

3. In a dry, clean bowl, whip the egg whites to stiff peaks. Fold into the chocolate mixture.

4. In another bowl (I’m sorry there are 3 bowls in play), add the vanilla to the cream and whip to stiff peaks. Fold that into the egg white/chocolate mixture. Put the mousse into serving glasses or one bowl and refrigerate until firm.

5. Enjoy!

I’m sure a more healthier version could exclude adding the egg and egg yolks into the chocolate, but that’s how my great grandmother did it so I’m not changing the recipe… yet. When I do make a lighter version, I will definitely post that (and a picture) for you too 🙂

I can’t guarantee a regular blog schedule this week because I’m participating in 4 site visits (MediaVest, Ogilvy, Ketchum and Estee Lauder) and a networking reception. I’m so excited and will recap on Friday. Then this weekend I’m seeing friends and going out to a show and dinners so that will bring lots of yummy pictures. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

