how to get a job tip #1: network!

If you’ve been following, you know that I’m in New York City this week. If you haven’t been following and new to the blog, welcome, but know that I’m in New York City (yayyy!) this week so blogging hasn’t been able to be a normal occurance.

Now that that’s out of the way, let me tell you what I’ve been up to! It’s been quite exciting. For the past 7 years (I think), AU’s School of Communication and Kogod School of Business (both schools that I’m majoring and minoring in respectively) puts on a site visit trip in the Big Apple. Students can participate in up to 6 site visits of your choice, go to the company, meet with the people there with a brief presentation and ask questions about the company, industry or even how to get hired.

It was very insightful and I got to go on some amazing visits including Ogilvy, MediaVest, Ketchum and Estee Lauder. Each company showed it’s character and allowed us to understand how it would truly be working for them. All the speakers were open and honest which also made for a positive experience and I feel I was able to make some lasting contacts in the industry.

We also had a kick-off event at Caroline’s on Broadway. It’s a comedy club where we got to meet other people on the trip or reconnect with friends, hear some jokes, and get a wonderful speech by Lindsey Pollak. She wrote “Getting from College to Career:
90 Things to Do Before You Join the Real World”
and co-wrote “The Savvy Gal’s Guide to Online Networking (or What Would Jane Austen Do?).” She had a lot of great tips, was very personable and someone that if you can hear her speak or read one of her books, do it (especially if you’re about to graduate like me)!

Last night, we also had a networking reception at Butterfield 8. While the space was a little narrow, I was able to reconnect and strengthen a contact previously made that day (Hi Julianne and Jordan!) and meet new ones (Hi Jill and Juli!)- all that I truly hope to continue and possibly work with one day.

This experience was truly wonderful. I know it seems trite for me to say it, but as someone who’s starting the job search and hoping to have a job come June, it’s both an exciting and nerve-wracking time. Being able to talk to alumni who understand us has students and ones we were able to reach out to was special. But even non-alumni were understanding, compassionate, and allowed me to specifically understand what kind of job I’d like to pursue or try out and also what positions to look for now and in the future. All good things ahead 🙂

Thank you American University!

____________________________________________________________

On a more personal note, I am now waiting for my best friend to come home (with her puppy right beside me) so we can order Chinese and relax for the night. Tomorrow starts a fun week of Chelsea Market, Soho, dinners and a Broadway show called Burn the Floor. YAYYY! It’s good to be back in NYC!

See you in DC on Sunday!

PS: I got a new book, Baked, today and am sooo excited to try out some recipes and even create my own from different ideas. Who’s with me?

2 responses to “how to get a job tip #1: network!

  1. Sounds like such a great trip! What a great opportunity!

  2. It was great meeting you as well. I’m also excited to have a new blog to follow and some recipes to try! Enjoy the rest of your NYC stay.

Leave a Reply

