do you cry or pick yourself back up?

I don’t know why, but this week I’ve been very clumsy. In four days, I fell twice! And not just a little slip or trip, a full fall with hands on the ground 😦

The first was right before my first site visit at MediaVest on Wednesday. I was walking down Broadway and suddenly my right heel got caught in my left pant cuff and I went face first down. See even when I fall, I do it 110% πŸ˜‰ Needless to say I was shocked at first as a nice man from behind me literally scooped me up and put me back on my feet. Then the sting and hurt set in and it was all I could do not to cry, but trying not to, I just took a deep breath and tried to start walking again. Of course I fell and hit my right knee (which had been hurting me last week) so my efforts were slow, but I just got to my site early to relax and regroup. My knee is pretty scraped up and I felt like a 5-year-old, but luckily my pants, coat, or anything else didn’t get torn which I was grateful for. That wouldn’t have been very professional!

The second time I fell was yesterday as I was walking through Soho. We got a light dusting of snow yesterday and I guess my boots didn’t get enough traction on one point of the sidewalk because I went face down again. This time though, I just got a little nick on my left knee (gotta be balanced!) and literally went down and back up again. Like before, nothing was torn which I was happy about and also for anyone who says NY-er’s aren’t nice, I think you should reconsider. Yes, they don’t openly start a conversation with you because they have places to go and people to see, but both time when I fell, I had people help me up and others asking me if I was ok. How lovely.

After falling for the second time, it made me think of falling in life. I definitely have had my number of falls when I was in recovering and just in general. Life isn’t easy, but sometimes those falls help us re-evaluate either what we’re doing or where we want to do in the future.

But there are two different kinds of people- those who cry and those who keep going. Don’t get me wrong, you can cry and then get going, but I’m thinking more of people who when they’re down, they stay down until someone else initiates the getting back up. I’ve realized that I’m one of those people who automatically get back up. Maybe it wasn’t always the best since it allowed me to move on too quickly from a bad day in recovery and not reflect on it. At the same, I have a persistence trait in me which doesn’t take “no” for an answer and will always find another way to do something that has helped me get through changing schools, locations, and in the job search.

You’re the only one in control of your life. Yes, things happen unexpectedly, but most times, you determine your fate by the choices you make. Why make the choice to be down, sad and a victim? That’s no fun! Life’s too short to not make the most of it. So if you get emotional, do it and then get going. You have a life to live! πŸ™‚

Have a great weekend!!! See you next week when classes for my last semester start! πŸ™‚

One response to “do you cry or pick yourself back up?

  1. Oh no! I hope you are ok. I am glad you are able to pick yourself up and keep going!

    Strong attitude πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

