restaurant week <3

As I said yesterday, this week is Restaurant Week in D.C. and I got to eat up with the lovely Anne! Yay! We’ve been talking back and forth for a bit and so it was fabulous to finally meet her in person. She’s just as sweet as she seems on her blog and I think there were times when we were talking so quickly and about so much that our words ran into each other. 🙂

After trying to figure out where we wanted to go (I was being the complicated one with not eating seafood or be able to digest Indian- sorry!), we chose Cafe Bonaparte. Three courses for $35.09, yes please.

Crepe chips with apples and melted brie. These were really good taste wise, but I wish the chips were less greasy. They should have been baked, instead of fried which would be lessened the grease and provided just a crisp base for the soft apples and melty cheese.

Steak frites. Like Anne, I don’t eat a lot of red meat; however, there’s a time and a place for a good steak and fries. These fries were perfect- soft on the inside and crunchy on the outside. The steak was very tender with a peppery bite. It was served with béarnaise or an herb butter, I chose the béarnaise, but on the side- just enough for dipping a little but nothing heavy because I had to leave room for…

Last Tango Crepe. (photo from Anne since mine didn’t come out well. Unfortunately the lighting on my side of the table wasn’t as bright) They’re known for their crepes (both savory and sweet) so I had to try one. It was filled with nutella and strawberries with whipped cream and berry sauce on the top! YUM!

The whole meal was fabulous. A little carb heavy for my taste, but that’s ok. It’s all about moderation, right? If somewhere’s known for they’re crepe I’m obviously going to get that and the other entree choices with salmon (ick!) and pasta (talk about more carbs) so more veggies are on the menu today 🙂 Balance, balance, balance.

Thank you Anne for a fabulous time! I can’t wait for more 🙂

PS: Who’s going to FitBloggin in Baltimore? Contact me if you want to go or room together.

5 responses to “restaurant week <3

  1. i am 🙂 im excited! i know jasmine from http://www.sweetandfit.com is looking for a roomie!

    • Oh thanks! Yea, I guess it’s going to be easy for you to go 🙂 I could commute from my parent’s house, but I don’t think it’d be as fun- hehe!

  2. hey girl! thanks so much for e-mailing me! we have so much in common – I am definitely looking for a roomie =)

  3. Pingback: great sage « the sweetest thing

Leave a Reply

