simple roasted veggies

One of my favorite ways to make vegetables (especially in the colder months) is roasting. Yes, you might be used to roasting meats, but the heat caramelizes the sugars from the vegetables and they get a little crispy and soft in the middle. YUM!

Since I decided to roast 3 different vegetables (brussel sprouts, turnip and acorn squash) today, I thought I’d share my favorite pairings.

First, preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Brussel Sprouts: After trimming, halving and cleaning 1# of sprouts, I toss them in 1-2 teaspoons of minced garlic, salt and pepper.

Turnip: After peeling and cutting into cubes (I used 3 medium), toss in 2 teaspoons of dijon or grainy mustard, salt and pepper.

For both of these vegetables, put them prepared on an aluminum-lined baking sheet (trust me the aluminum makes for super easy clean up) that sprayed with olive oil. Pop them in the oven for about 45 minutes to an hour or until they’re soft when touched in the middle and browned on the surface.

Acorn Squash: Cut the squash in half and scoop out the seeds. Sprinkle with salt and place face down on an aluminum-lined baking pan for an hour.

Look at that steam! It looks burned, but I promise that it’ll taste great and not burned. It’s just the sugars on the squash all crunchy.

You can also do this method with sweet potatoes or butternut squash (one of my favorites!) tossed with garlic or mustard or paprika or sage; tomatoes with thyme, asparagus and the list continues…

I do toss all the vegetables though with salt and pepper, but have fun with your other favorite herbs or spices.

Hope you’re having a great FRIDAY!!! Stay tuned to how I put them together for dinner later 🙂

3 responses to “simple roasted veggies

  1. I LOVE roasted veggies! Especially in the colder months!!

    Have a great weekend girl!

  2. Pingback: new food to incorporate #1 « the sweetest thing

  3. Pingback: new food to incorporate #1 | the sweetest things

Leave a Reply

