a sundae for sunday!

Yup, I’m cheesy. I admit it. But at least I made you laugh… maybe?

This was one of my favorite breakfasts that I made up this summer. I used to have them all the time and then when it got cooler, and the fact that I ate enough fruit anyways, I changed over to oatmeal. I did, however, get a few of my friends hooked on them and they’re still a great nutritious and alternative breakfast. Who doesn’t like a sundae anyway?

Apple Sundae (serves 1)

1 apple (my favorite in Pink Lady, but your favorite will do just fine)

2-3 tablespoons of applesauce (optional)

1-2 tablespoons of your favorite nut butter (I use Whole Foods No Sugar Added creamy peanut butter or creamy Barney Butter)

1/8- 1/4 cup of granola (I use Whole Foods Vanilla Almond from the bulk bins)

1/8- 1/4 cup of other toppings such as peanut, almonds, some of a larabar, raisins, crasins or other dried fruit, coconut, etc

Directions

1. Cut the apple into bite-sized chunks. Stir in the applesauce with the apple if you’d like.

2. In a small bowl, melt 1-2 tablespoons of peanut butter (or other nut butter) in the microwave until liquidy (about 30-45 seconds). Drizzle on top of the apple.

3. Sprinkle on the granola and any other nuts you want to use.

4. Mix to combine. Add any other toppings or dried fruit on top.

5. Yum. Yum. Yum. šŸ™‚

One response to “a sundae for sunday!

  1. This looks delicious! I LOVE melted PB šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

