new product #2

Missed #1? Find it here!

I was going through my pantry the other day looking at what I had and trying to figure out different meals. Well I came across this…

Oat bran!

I had gotten it a while ago and had put it on a different shelf than my oats and breakfast stuff so I completely forgot about it. Whoops!

So this morning I decided to make my own hot cereal mix using it. For a 1/3 cup serving, this mix has only 120 calories, 6 grams of fiber (25% of your daily needs), 4 grams of protein and a fabulous source of whole grains! Here’s what I mixed up.

Ingredients

2 cups of oat bran

2 cups of oats

1 cup ground flax

1 cup of wheat germ

Directions

1. Mix all ingredients in a plastic bag.

2. Make oatmeal like you usually would. I made mine with half a banana, cinnamon, nutmeg and hemp milk before adding blueberries and a little almond butter on top!

What’s your favorite oatmeal topping? Mine’s been blueberries, cherries and almond butter lately.

2 responses to “new product #2

  1. Pingback: going with the flow « the sweetest thing

  2. Pingback: going with the flow | one girl - three loves

Leave a Reply

