fueling for hot and sweaty

“Do something everyday that scares you”

I love that quote and I truly believe to push yourself beyond your comft for maximum joy and happiness; however, recently, I wasn’t practicing what I was preaching. See sometimes I’ll do outrageous and very extroverted because I figure why not? Even if it goes badly, I have nothing to lose and I may never see that person again.

But one thing that has been hanging over my head was my desire to start bikram yoga. There’s a studio near me (the bus route can literally take me door to door), but I had never taken a class. I had said in my resolutions that I wanted to start, but I kept putting it off- I was tired, I had a headache, blah blah blah.

Well Monday I bit the bullet and went. Now for those of you that don’t know bikram yoga is a series of 26 poses that are done in a specific sequence in a very hot, humid room (about 100 degrees). So you sweat and you stretch and you get dizzy and lightheaded at times- all normal.

Even though I got dizzy about 3 times and had to breathe and rest for a little, I was really proud of myself for getting through the 90 minutes. The next day I was sore, but in a good way and I was so at peace and happy. So much so that I went to class again on Wednesday and I’m about to leave for today’s class.

However, it SOOO important to hydrate and fuel before you go. They suggest to not eat 2 hours ahead of going which is probably smart, but since I go to a 9:15 class, that’s not really feasible for me. That would mean me eating at 6:30 am and while that doesn’t sound bad, that’s a long day when I wouldn’t be going to sleep until midnight. Gotta love being a college student!

I had gotten a Vega Whole Food Health Optimizer last weekend when they had a table out at Whole Foods. I got chocolate thinking it’d be good to have that with some hemp milk and banana before going. Well I give those who like this credit, but I thought it tasted awful. I could only drink 1/3-1/2 of it before dumping it. It held me over on Monday, but I knew I had to try something else if I wanted to continue. Smoothies are great because they’re easy to digest, hydrating liquid and quick on an early morning.

That’s where this comes in…

I tried half of this Naked Juice smoothie on Wednesday with some frozen raspberries mixed in and YUM!!! So much better. The taste was nice and tropical and now there’s 16 grams of protein per serving! Wow! A perfect fueling, hydrating and yummy breakfast. (And it’s even on sale this week at my Whole Foods…yippee!)

What are your fueling breakfasts?


One response to “fueling for hot and sweaty

  1. 2 pieces of whole grain toast with pb and preserves, half a banana

    oatmeal w/egg whites, banana

    kashi cereal w/fruit

    baked eggs with Parmesan w/toast

    um, do you want more? lol

    I love breakfast, and I can’t imagine why people like to skip it!

Leave a Reply

