new food to incorporate #2

With snow still on the ground, it’s obviously cold. Pretty, but cold. I wanted to make something warm and soothing that I could reheat the rest of the week, but what as that going to be.

I’m not going to lie, soup is my go-to warm-me-up meal. I’m sure it’s most people’s. My favorite is split pea soup as it was something that my grandmother used to make for us when we visited and my mom has continually made it for me over the years. It’s hearty, but very easy since you throw all of the ingredients into a pot and let it simmer for 2 hours. I think I can manage that one.

As easy as that is, and as much as I thought about making it, I wanted to try something new. I had seen this recipe a while ago and it looked delicious. I hadn’t made it, but bookmarked the page and when I was deciding what to make, this appeared and I said, “yes!”

The star ingredient: lentils!

Now I grew up with lentils (my mom makes a great lentil salad) so they’re not really new to me, but might be new to you. Lentils are a great food for protein, carbs and fiber. In one 1/3 cup serving of the following recipe you get only 110 calories, 9 g of fiber and 8 g of protein making it a great addition to a salad or a side dish.

Umbrian Lentil Stew

adapted from this recipe from Food and Wine

1 can of Muir Glen fire-roasted no-salt-added diced tomatoes

1 carrot

1/2 small onion

1 garlic clove

2 sprigs of rosemary

1 1/4 cup of lentils, rinsed

2 cups of chicken broth

1/4 cup of white wine

1 1/2 cups of water

1 tablespoon of grain mustard

Directions

1. Since I didn’t have the tomato paste the recipe called for, I made my own. To do that, I took one can of tomatoes and put them into a pot, brought it up to a boil and then simmered it until it reduced to about 3/4 cup. It took about 30 minutes. Ta-da!

2. In a food processor or by hand, finely chop the carrot and onion.

3. In a medium pot, heat 1/2 tablespoon of  olive oil. Add the carrot and onion and cook until soft. Add half of the homemade tomato paste and cook until it’s slightly brown.

4. Add the rinsed lentils, chicken broth, wine and 1/2 cup of water to the pot. Bring to a boil and then turn down to a simmer. Simmer for about 40 minutes until most of the liquid is absorbed.

5. Add the rest of the water. Bring back up to a boil, lower to a simmer and simmer until the water is absorbed and lentils are soft, about another 25 minutes.

6. At the end, stir in the grainy mustard.

7. Serve on a salad, as a side dish to pork or chicken, or with a fired egg on top for brunch! YUM  🙂

What’s your favorite cold weather food?

2 responses to “new food to incorporate #2

  1. I can definitely see myself eayting this atop a salad! great recipe
    2

  2. fave cold weather food: tomato soup. grilled cheese to dip in it definite bonus. =)

Leave a Reply

