who’s your celebrity role model?

There’s no doubt that celebrities have a lot of pressure to look a certain way and have certain features. Most are on some sort of diet and exercise routine- sometimes for a role and sometimes not- and while we all are for a healthy lifestyle, they’re also airbrushed at the slightest imperfection. Talk about a self-esteem buster.

Kate Winslet and Reese Witherspoon are two of my favorite actresses not only for their ability, but for their personal privacy and how they speak out for women and what they deserve. I think it’s fabulous to see these characters forever in media step back and just live their life, be healthy, but not obsessive and say it’s ok. They are role models.

However two other great celebrities spoke out this week about being true to themselves.

Find out who you are and be that person. That’s what your soul was put on this earth to be. Find that truth, live that truth, and everything else will come.

(source)

That’s what Ellen said when Katie Couric asked her for advice for young women in an interview in Glamour magazine.

(Have I mentioned how much I love that Glamour does these sorts of stories? There’s another post coming up about this.)

How wonderful and spot on is that? From someone who openly came out and then had a tough time when she lost her career because of it, Ellen encourages women, and frankly men too, to just be who you are with no excuses.

I agreed with something she said to and what I hope for: When we have more people in power to put the right kind of images on television to reflect what people look like, it will all start shifting. But there has to be a tipping point, and we’re not at that tipping point yet.

The good part is that shift is starting I think (and I hope). The bad? Like Ellen said, that tipping point where society changes as a whole isn’t here yet. There’s still this desire for perfection and an ideal that hangs over the industry not only from the people in it, but from the consumers.

We put the wrong emphasis on what beauty is and what health is. Health is being vibrant and having energy and being happy. AMEN! A woman after my own heart! I hope everyone can hear her, start believing it and go dance down the street 🙂

Anne Hathaway is another actress who while she’s in the spotlight, it’s not for negative reasons. This month she’s on the cover of InStyle magazine in a beautiful purple dress talking about Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland where she plays the White Queen.

(source)

She’s gutsy too since she basically walked into the studio and told them that she wanted to play that role. I guess you can do that when you’re as successful as she, but think if you had that confidence, what would you do?

What Anne does is to not plan anything. I never plan an image I want to project. It’s always very much where I am right now. This allows her to be true to herself always and in a world where images are so put together, it’s refreshing.

What Anne can also teach us is acceptance, not only for life, but yourself.

I think I’ve got really weird features. I have very large features on a very small head. But, you know, I’m not going to beat myself up. … I look like myself, and I think at the end of the day, as nice as pretty is, authenticity is more important.

LOVE LOVE LOVE this! It encompasses everything I hope for women. To not beat up about the smallest imperfection, but accept it. Know it makes you different and that’s wonderful. It’s you. 🙂

Who’s your celebrity role model? Why?

Leave a Reply

