taking care of #1

I have a confession. It came to me in the shower (as most of my realizations do) last night.

I haven’t been taking care of myself this past week. No, I haven’t used any bad behaviors (Mom, I’m fine, I promise!), but I haven’t been listening to myself as much as I would like to think I have.

How did this realization come about? Well first, I had a panic attack last week (which I think started this process) due to the snow. While snow is pretty, DC just isn’t ready for the kind of snow we’ve gotten this winter. Did I mention we broke a record after the last storm? Yup, we did at 54.9 inches.

Anyway, after being basically stuck inside for a week, I got very restless. I was by myself (since I live by myself) and even if you wanted to move, you just couldn’t. The streets and sidewalks weren’t plowed well. The buses were running on a modified schedule. The metro was running every 30 minutes just underground. Stuck is a good word for what was going on 😦

Now I had a great fabulous time in Texas. It was so nice to be with family and celebrate my uncle’s no-more-chemo recovery! He was very very sick when he was first diagnosed, but my uncle (and family for that matter) is amazingly strong and he fought with all of his might. I love you Uncle John.

That was a good part of this past week, but then when we got back, everything that had to be done came back to me. See, nicely my teachers didn’t hand out too many extra assignments as we missed class due to the snow, but now we’re trying to crush 2 weeks into one since midterm week is only 2 weeks away.

Oh, and my PR portfolio group has an event at a local bar on Friday night to raise money for the Arlington Academy of Hope. (For my fellow DC-ers, come to Town Tavern from 6-11 pm to help us give Ugandan students an education. With a $5 cover, you get $2 drink specials and $5 burgers!)

Oh, one last thing, the walk is Sunday, which I’m so excited about, but it unfortunately crept up after missing a week of planning.

Needless to say, the tension headaches/migraines that I’m prone to have been with me since Monday morning. My shoulders have been holding all of that tension and I just haven’t cared. Oh, and I know I need to get my eyes checked because I’ve been wearing my glasses more lately and not wearing them probably hasn’t helped my head.

Fun little tidbit in case you didn’t know that I had glasses for far distances.I’ve tried to give my body rest when I can and skipped yoga so far, but I realized last night that maybe I shouldn’t have.

Taking care of myself is about rest, but it’s also about doing things that are good for myself and that I love. Well I love yoga. It brings me peace and a time where it’s all about focus and moving my body. I need that right now. I also love fueling my body (while being indulgent at times) which has meant reducing my meat and dairy consumption lately since it’s made me feel so much better. Yup, I’ve completely ignored that one. I’ve been having milk and eating cheese and meat everyday since Monday and I feel horribly sluggish. I had andouille sausage tonight at dinner with grits, onions, peppers and tomatoes. It was very very good, but my stomach was so torn up my stomach after having the rich sausage 😦

So why am I telling you this?

One, to let you know that I’m not perfect. No one is. I may be honest and outspoken, but that doesn’t mean I have a perfect life. Two, to tell you that having a bad week is OK, but realizing you need a change or to do something for yourself is the first step to make yourself feel better. Three, I talked about being your own best friend before and taking care when you’re sick, but wellness and health isn’t just physical, it’s mental and emotional too and when those components aren’t three working together or balanced, something’s got to give. What does your body need physically? emotionally? mentally?

So what’s my plan for today to make myself feel better? Well I have to go to class, but first I’m going have a nice soothing bowl of my recent favorite oatmeal combination- sauteed apples with spices over my oat mix (made with almond milk and coconut water) with a blob of almond butter.

After class, I’m going to stop at Whole Foods to get a few things I need for the rest of the week/weekend since I might have a visitor Saturday and Sunday- yay! 🙂 Some work might be done then and depending on the time, I might even fit in a yoga class at 5:30 pm. If not, that’s OK, I might just need a calm night with a good dinner and good book! Perfect. Tomorrow morning will definitely have yoga in it 🙂

It might feel selfish to only think of yourself, but you gotta take care of #1. If you don’t, who will? Love yourself. Love your body. And know this to shall pass ❤

What do you do to make yourself feel better in a stressful time? Do you take care of yourself?


6 responses to “taking care of #1

  1. I am a new to D.C. intern, where do you take yoga? I am in need of a good studio to go to 🙂

  2. Good for you! Your body and soul will definitely appreciate you giving it a little more loving.

    On that note, yes, I believe I can be very good to myself. The other night I was feeling a little stressed about life and general, so I hopped in the bath with a book that always makes me feel more calm and centered “The Miracle of Mindfulness”. If you ever have a chance, I would suggest you pick it up 🙂

  3. I have to remind myself of those two things often — I’m not perfect, and having a bad day is OK. I tend to freak out about bad days. I don’t trust that I’ll get out of them based on some past experiences. But, I’m learning to trust myself more. The bad days pass. Overall, I know how to take care of myself; I just lack some self-confidence in that area still. I consider yoga self-care. A short walk helps me too. And watching TV soothes me (however brainless the show). Reading. Sleeping. Kitties. I keep it pretty simple 🙂

  4. Wow! Your blog just kind of snuck up on me, but I wrote basically the same thing on my blg yesterday. I was also trapped all last week and it was rough, both mentally and physically. Anyways I just wanted to let you know you aren’t the only one struggling and I think it is great you have gotten yourself together again! I would love it if you added me on Twitter bc we are both in dc and I always need new foodie suggestions! My name is @jaaltoff

  5. Beautiful post. Whenever I feel stressed, one of my favorite things to do is to take a nice long walk (preferably in sunshine). 🙂

    I hope you’re feeling better and your walk today went awesome – I’m sorry I couldn’t come but stupid studying is calling my name 😦

    p.s. those sauteed apple oats look awesome!!

Leave a Reply

