obsessing over women’s bodies

Wow, what a day of taking care of yourself will do to your outlook. Thank you for your inspiring comments and telling me what you do to take it easy. While I know I’m not alone with sometimes not paying attention to myself, it’s nice to see us sticking together 🙂

As NYC Fashion Week winds down, I wanted to talk about an article I came upon about Christina Hendricks and made me question something.

(source)

Anytime someone talks about your figure constantly, you get nervous, you get really self-conscious. I was working my butt off on the show, and then all anyone was talking about was my body!

Why are they talking about her body? Well 1. she’s getting more noticed for her acting in Mad Men and 2. because she has what every women has, but isn’t always comfortable showing off- curves! With a larger bust, small waist and actual hips, she very different than your average actress or model.

Unfortunately and fortunately too, there’s a lot of talk right now about size, weight and figures of predominate celebrities. It’s all timing. On the one hand, it’s good that people are finally noticing and voicing that a change needs to be made, but on the other hand, by paying attention to the health of these people are we overanalyzing those in the media at the same time?

While I’m tired of hearing about her in the headlines, Jessica Simpson also brought this up. She got slammed last year when she wore high-waisted “mom jeans” and we’ve seen her weight flucuations throughout the years, but is it really a big deal? It is if she’s not healthy, but sometimes women have weight flucuations. Sorry but our darn hormones get in the way.

(source)

When I walk through an airport and people go, ‘You’re not fat!’ I’m like, ‘Thanks. Thanks. That’s great. Good to know I’m not fat today. Thank you!’

Really? Why would someone even say that? Reminds you of what fashion directors have told Crystal Renn, doesn’t it?

When I think of America, it’s very diverse, but we do have the cookie-cutter way we’re supposed to look, and going to all these countries, it’s so completely different.

This is true too. In every society there’s an image of beauty. For some it’s pale skin, others it’s curves and others it’s too thin like the U.S. What I feel is important is while there are these images of beauty, they’re not the same, just like us. We’re not the same and so to put one standard image onto the population that doesn’t encompass women in general is not healthy or safe.

What is your definition of beauty? Do you think there is such a thing as “an ideal”? What would it be?

PS: If you’re in the DC area this Sunday, February 21, please come to American University’s Body Image Awareness Week Walk. This is our version of National Eating Disorders Week, but trying to encompass not only eating disorders, but disordered or unhealthy eating. Registration or checking in (if you register here) is at 10:30 am on the quad with the walk officially starting at 11 am 🙂 I hope to see you there!

3 responses to “obsessing over women’s bodies

  1. Here by way of Margarita’s twitter (author of Weightless blog).
    http://is.gd/8KmiS

    “Cookie cutter” reminded me of a conversation I had with my sister last weekend. We watched the movie “Couples Retreat”, and in one scene the men and women from each of the 4 couples lined up facing each other. The 4 women were each nearly exact carbon copies of one another, variations only in skin color, facial features, hair color. But the men were 4 vastly different body types. We both noticed that *immediately*, and it pissed us off!

    Great post. 🙂

  2. I was definitely there in spirit! Unfortunately my compass isn’t hosting any events for the week (which is strange, because disordered eating runs pretty rampant on a womens college’s campus), but I definitely will be putting up a post on my new blog 🙂

    • Awww thanks! I’m sorry your campus doesn’t hold any events, but if you feel it’s necessary, talk to your wellness center or health center and see what can be done. I know a friend of mine started the week at University of Delaware 4 years ago and it’s still going strong so it can be done 🙂

Leave a Reply

