new product #3

There’ no doubt that I love cheese. Really, I do, but I’ve been pulling back from a lot of dairy products lately so what’s a girl to do. I still have eaten cheese here and there, but when I heard about this stuff from a few vegans, I knew I wanted to try it…

…NUTRITIONAL YEAST!

I know it sounds weird, especially for omnivores and frankly it did to me too, so when I found it in the bulk bins of Whole Foods last Monday, I got a small amount and then researched what it was completely. This is what I found…

  • It’s an inactive yeast with a cheesy, nutty flavor
  • It’s easy to digest and with 1 serving equally 2 heaping tablespoons
  • It’s a powerhouse B vitamins. In one serving, it has 640% of your daily needs in thiamin (B1), 565% of needed riboflavin (B2), 480% of needed B6 and 133% of needed B12.
  • It also has 280% of needed niacin (which helps lower cholesterol and with detoxification) and 60% of needed folate (which helps bring oxygen to red blood cells and against some forms of cancer and heart disease)
  • Worried about vegans not getting enough protein? This has 8 grams of protein per serving!

With those benefits, I started looking up some recipes and knew quickly exactly what I wanted to make: vegan macaroni and cheese. But I’ll be honest, I don’t eat a lot of pasta anymore. It used to be a binge food when I was sick, but when I was going to reintroduce it back into my diet, I realized that I didn’t miss it. I might have whole wheat pasta, but I get more comfort from rice, barley and other grains that why push myself?

Instead I made what I’ll call “cheezy” rice. I made a super simple sauce and then put it over brown rice. Yummm! Here’s what I did…

“Cheezy” Rice (serves 2)

adapted from Fat Free Vegan

½ cup brown rice

5 tablespoons water

1/4 cup original Almond Breeze

3 tablespoons nutritional yeast

2 teaspoons cornstarch or potato starch

1 teaspoon lemon juice

1 dash garlic puree

1/2 teaspoon dijon mustard

1/8 teaspoon paprika

1/8 teaspoon ancho chili

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1. Cook the brown rice as it says on the package. I always forget when I cook brown rice that it takes longer than white rice and I usually have to add more water so just watch it.

2. In a blender, with a hand blender, or in a Magic Bullet (which is what I did- I love this thing!), add the rest of the ingredients from the water to the ancho chili and mix until combined.

3. When the rice is done, add the sauce to pot and stir until thick. This won’t take long between the cornstarch and the starch from the rice. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

I added some spinach to mine, but adding some broccoli or any other vegetable you love would work too if you wanted to bulk it up. Enjoy 🙂

2 responses to “new product #3

  1. I think it would taste better with a bit of brie!

  2. I love nutritional yeast- I’ve just started experimenting with it myself! 🙂

Leave a Reply

