italian import

Something that pushed me into doing this independent study was my love for food and fashion. I mean honestly, who doesn’t love food? It’s nourishing for our body, it’s comforting for the soul and it’s often attached to many positive childhood memories. In terms of fashion, it’s always been and will always be a way to express yourself outwardly with color, texture and patterns. Growing up dancing, I was someone who chose comfort (like athletic clothes) over  heels and tights; however, as I grew up (and lived in NYC and Paris for a bit), I saw it as an art form and started to have a lot of fun with it.

Unfortunately, the two industries don’t really mesh well as many models in the fashion industry are just too thin and unhealthy. We’re living in a society where the thinner the better and too often, they’re also too young. Someone who’s 12 is not a woman and shouldn’t be modeled as such.

Even though I don’t think the media plays a huge role in eating disorders (I know from personal experience that there’s a lot more than the media to blame), it definitely plays a part in body dissatisfaction and with being a communications major, I knew there had to be a way to advertise for a healthy and positive image.

(source)

Like fashion and food, Europe has consistently been ahead of us so why would this be any different? Madison Plus reported yesterday that Italy’s Curvy Can launched a campaign in conjunction with Jonas Onlus, an eating disorder clinic,  to promote body awareness and eating disorders within the fashion industry.

This campaign, “I’m Not a Fashion Victim,” consists of pictures of models who have either dealt with an eating disorder or knew someone close to them who suffered. They all did it for free to promote the cause along with videos and school programs with Jonas Onlus educating Italians on eating disorders.

Marina Ferrari, Valentina Fogliani, Elisa D’Ospina, Mjriam Bon, Eleonora Finazzer and Aija Barzdina

Something to this extent, even if it’s solely focused on positive image, would be my dream to work on. I think there needs to be a change in our society’s ideal and what better way, but to use the fashion industry which is highly regarded by millions of women. It will be interesting to see the response they get.

What do you think? Do you think it’s going to be effective? Would you like to see something like this in the U.S.?

3 responses to “italian import

  1. I agree with you that the media doesn’t cause eating disorders, but can contribute to body dissatisfaction. Beauty standards of any kind can be harmful. I’m actually far more self-conscious when I see ads with women in perfect make-up and fashionable clothes than I am when I see thin women. I don’t care as much about weight (meaning it doesn’t really affect me negatively), but I’m self-conscious about style. I feel like I always look immature or something. Anyway, I think campaigns like this can be helpful, even just for bringing awareness to issues around eating disorders and self-image. I don’t think eating disorders are always tied to weight or beauty ideals (though the result of the diseases, thinness, suggests otherwise), but I still think encouraging women to be healthy is important. That said, these women are gorgeous and still make me feel less-than-glamorous! Ha!

  2. Pingback: “hungry” « the sweetest thing

  3. Pingback: "hungry" | the sweetest things

Leave a Reply

