i’m back!!

…in New York City that is! Yay! That’s also why I haven’t posted in a few days, but let’s catch up!

So Friday morning, I took the train (I’m definitely going to have an interesting time adjusting from college waking hours and work waking hours in a few months…) at 8:35 a.m. and got here a little after noon. I had an interview with a firm I love so that was exciting and I look forward to keeping the conversation going. We’ll see what happens come graduation time in May… (in the meantime, Hi Fran! Hi Janeth!)

After I headed down to Molly’s new apartment. She actually lives near my mom’s cousin and Whitney so a very familiar area to me- even though I know the city pretty well. I got to meet her precious new puppy, Wrigley, and just relax for a while. but the excitement came when we went to Candle 79 for dinner for my birthday. I’ve been wanting to go there for a while, but was always a little wary. Now that I’m eating more vegetarian/vegan, I thought “why not?” since it already had Molly’s seal-of-approval and known as being one of the best.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get any good pictures because the lighting was so dark. Now with being a blogger, I get very frustrated when the lighting’s too dark (haha!), but I can tell you what I ordered. I got a special which was sauteed asparagus, mushrooms, onion, peppers, and green beans with a roasted pepper-polenta sauce. It was so fresh and the polenta wasn’t too thick- yum! We also ordered a side of their sauteed greens of the day which were swiss chard, escarole, and collard greens. I have never really had collard greens before, but especially mixed with two greens I do love, I loved them.

Dessert was a their chocolate peanut butter bliss…

It was divine and rich. We split that while I also had a vanilla-cinnamon rooibos tea to warm me right up. It was a wonderful dinner and with great company, a perfect way to start the weekend.

Saturday was a lot of just walking around for me. There were a few personal things that overshadowed the spark of NYC to me this time, but at the same time, there’s nothing like waling around a great city, exploring the many stores. I also went into Grand Central Station Market which is great! Bread, meat, cheese, charcuterie, fruit, veggies! It’s got it all and would be a trouble spot for me, among other markets, if I ever lived or worked near there.

The best part of my day was going to my favorite restaurant in the city. Now I’m partial, but I absolutely love Gramercy Tavern. There’s both a tavern section and a main dining room, but I always sit in the cozy tavern. Not only is it comfortable with great service, but you can get a great dinner for not too expensive.

roasted chicken breast with carrots, squash, and green beans

Also, I’m always able to see my ex-pastry chef, Nancy Olson, and eat her fabulous chocolate pudding that the whole experience is a treat.

chocolate pudding with salted caramel, whipped cream and sugared brioche croutons

YUM!!!

Today (Sunday) has also been a lot of walking around. I went to Sarabeth’s for brunch and got their mixed vegetable (mixed peppers, asparagus, chives and added spinach and leek) frittata, but with egg whites. I used to eat egg white omelets all the time and now they’re just blah to me. Maybe I should have tried putting salt and pepper on it (???), but when I found out that their regular frittatas had 6 eggs (!!!), I decided to get it. Oh well.

I also walked around Union Square. I stopped in One Lucky Duck takeaway and got an unpictured smoothie

and then picked up these beauties at Whole Foods.

Two kinds of Vosges chocolate bars for pancakes when I get home, ChocoHaze and cinnamon-roasted almonds. I can’t picture I few others because they’re a surprise for my mom- shhhh! 😉

I forget how crowded that store is, but I have to admit they do move you out of there quickly. Tonight I’m meeting up with Stephanie (@Sweptfilms) at Josie’s West for dinner. I can’t wait to meet her since we’ve been talking through Twitter for a few months now and the menu looks delicious…

I’ll wrap the rest of my trip up tomorrow and also have a powerful post on when advertising goes too far (in my opinion). Have a great rest of your weekend and enjoy this beautiful weather! 🙂

One response to “i’m back!!

  1. Pingback: candle cafe’s vegetarian chili « the sweetest thing

Leave a Reply

