perfect spring side dish: lemon garlic roasted broccoli

When I went to Great Sage with the lovely DC/MD bloggers, I got this great roasted broccoli as a side to my chili, wilted spinach and brown rice.

Great Sage's version

When I put everything together to eat (yup, I like to mix flavors which is funny since I hated doing that when I was younger), it was a wonderful mix of flavor and texture- the perfect combination. I knew right then as I was eating it that I wanted to make it at home.

My version of the chili will be coming up as I have an idea in my head that I’ll hopefully be making tomorrow. Steamed spinach and brown rice aren’t really recipes per se, but techniques that if you’d like me to post, I will, but for now, I won’t. But in the meantime, I tried to recreate the roasted broccoli from that night tonight.

It was pretty awesome, if I do say so myself, and very simple.

Lemon and Garlic Roasted Broccoli

about 1.5# of broccoli crowns

1-2 tablespoons of roasted garlic puree (or 1 tablespoons of fresh minced garlic)

2 teaspoons of dijon or grainy mustard

1 teaspoon of olive oil

juice from 1/2 a lemon

salt and pepper

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

2. Clean and cut up the broccoli crowns. I take off the woody end and peel the stalks a bit to remove the toughness.

3. Steam the broccoli until al dente- when they’re cooked but still crisp since they’ll cook more in the oven.

4. In a separate bowl, combine the lemon juice, garlic, olive oil, mustard, salt and pepper into a dressing. When the broccoli’s done, toss in the bowl with the dressing and lay out on a baking sheet.

5. Roast in the oven for about 30 minutes or until the florets are a little browned and the broccoli is cooked fully. YUM!!! 🙂

4 responses to “perfect spring side dish: lemon garlic roasted broccoli

  1. That looks really good!! Fit Bloggin’ is coming closer, girl!! yippie!

  2. YAY I am so glad you figured out how to do it at home! =)

Leave a Reply

