different cultures, different ideas of beauty

I wrote about Jessica Simpson about a month ago and how we, as women, tear other women down- especially celebrities. I almost feel like instead of looking good and feeling good for ourselves, we do it not for the men in our life, but the women in fear that we’ll get the evil eye or the “are you really going to wear that?” look.

As you may or may not know, after Simpson got horrible remarks about her body during this concert, she was very self-conscious and reevaluated her definition of beauty and her image of herself. From that, she created a new show called The Price of Beauty where she’s going around the world showcasing a different country each week and learning about their idea of beauty. Did you know that in Uganda, women gain about 90# by drinking milk so their future husbands can call them a “fat cow?” It’s a compliment there because cows are very highly regarded so being large is considered beautiful.

However, in the U.S., we have this idea that the thinner or the toner you are, the better. But you know, some bodies are never going to have those 6-pack abs or be a size 0. Trust me, my friend Devon has awesome abs and they come naturally to her. Mine, they may be toned, but they’re not defined and that’s ok with me. It’s not going to change so why be worried about it?

I think this will definitely be an interesting show to show the differences between cultures and hopefully bring light to this country that our ideas are not always the best.

The Price of Beauty premieres tonight in Thailand at 10 pm EST on VH1.

Are you going to watch it? You better believe there will be a series of posts on this show here. Look out for it tomorrow 🙂

5 responses to “different cultures, different ideas of beauty

  1. Looking forward to your insights about the show. We don’t have it here in Australia but hope it will come soon.

  2. I have it set to record in my DVR. I’m interested to see it, as I think it’s interesting how different cultures perceive beauty (and how they pass that idea around to women in that culture). I’m prematurely disappointed with her lumping eating disorders into the problems with the thinness ideal. Eating disorders are mental illnesses, not issues of vanity. Yes, thin women can trigger or support weight loss, but full-blown anorexia and bulimia are much more complicated than wanting to be skinny. I’ll shut up now 🙂 I am going to watch! Looking forward to your posts!

  3. I will set my DVR as well and I’m looking forward to your posts!

  4. I think she is doing a good thing. Beauty is different in every country. Saw the first episode last night and will continue to watch. Just found your blog.

Leave a Reply

