changes

I’ll admit I never thought I’d be a blogger.. and not because I didn’t think I didn’t have anything special to add (which was a thought in my head), but because I actually HATED writing while I was growing up.

Shocking, I know, especially since I’m at FitBloggin’ right now in Baltimore! yay! But more on that tomorrow…

Just a little background for you: My dad always told my mom that if they had a girl, she’d look just like her and if they had a boy, he’d look just like him. Then came me- a girl who looks and acts like him. Whoops! Well he was an accounting major and is now the U.S. Treasurer for an international concrete company so following that pattern, you might be able to tell that I was actually very science and math oriented. I wanted to be a marine biologist for the longest time and my dad had made sure I knew all my times tables within the first weeks of learning them. Between that basis and dance, a natural fit was to go into physical therapy and when I went to Elon, I was on that track.

Fast forward 6 years later and I’m about to graduate with my B.A. in Public Communication- a major that uses the complete opposite side of the brain- and blog on a somewhat regular basis.

Blogging has been a change this semester, but a welcomed one. I’ve learned so much about myself, about other’s health and feelings and found a community that has absolutely wonderful people in it. But because the sweetest thing has evolved, it’s only time to make some other changes to be able to grow and continue.

So what’s going to happen?

1. This semester I’ve been taking a web development class and for the second part of the class, we’re talking all about blogging, hosting and everything that goes into it. I have already purchased my domain and will be moving soon and with a new title, header and format! It’s very exciting 🙂 Oh.. PS: my twitter will be changing too, but I’ll make those announcements closer to when it happens.

2. As much as I’ve loved writing about fashion and body image, and will continue to do so, I’m also going to start adding more recipes and food pictures. When I started this blog, it was going to be just that: about food. My independent study created a whole new idea, but I still want to be true to myself after this study done and include ALL of those passions and thoughts.

3. And this might not be a change per se, but I’m going to continue to get myself out there in the web and in the communities I’ve jumped into. With FitBloggin’ this week and meeting up with Steph and more advocates at a panel led by the National Eating Disorder Association in April, there are fun things to learn about in many different areas. I’m only beginning, but I can’t wait for more.

I will try to blog tomorrow from the conference and panels, but I can’t say what that schedule’s going to be like yet. If I don’t, there will be a complete wrap-up on Monday 🙂

These changes are a little scary- I’m very new to all of this- but I’m also so excited! What changes have you gone through lately? Even more importantly, what are you doing his weekend? I hope something fun especially if your weather is as good as it is here. Thank goodness for spring! 🙂

2 responses to “changes

  1. Hey roomie! I’m at fitbloggin’! Some new changes are going to come my way via a new training schedule. Time to start half ironman training when I get back home!

  2. yay!! I’m excited!! Hope you’re having so much FitBloggin fun 🙂 Can’t wait to hear all about it.

Leave a Reply

