central michel richard

Living in D.C. has it’s perks- good schools, fun neighborhoods with boutique stores and cafes, museums, history and my favorite, great restaurants. No, the scene isn’t NYC, but it has it’s place and one of those that I’ve been dying to go to was Central Michel Richard.

When I was interning at Share Our Strength last spring, I was able to taste a mini version of their Grilled Mushroom and Cheese sandwich at Taste of the Nation. I’ve wanted to go back ever since as that was one of the best grilled cheese sandwiches I’ve ever had!

Another perk about living in D.C. is that my aunt and uncle (my dad’s brother) live in McLean, just over the Chain Bridge from me, and have been nice enough to spoil me and two other girls they met in the area. Because of them, I have become friends both with Mei and Uchenna too and we have fun “girls nights” plus my uncle.

While Uchenna couldn’t make it this time, Mei and I were lucky enough to go to the National Art Gallery with my aunt and uncle to see an exhibit called “From Impressionism to Modernism” which featured a variety of works from Chester Dale’s collection.

La Coiffure by Henri Matisse

Jerusalem Artichoke Flowers by Claude Monet

After that, we walked with the thousands of other people in D.C. on this gorgeous day from various rallies, we went to Central. I was so excited that I had already warned them that pictures were going to have to be taken.

I started out with the French Onion soup. Who can go wrong with that at a french-based restaurant?

Then I had the Skirt Steak au Poivre with Onion Carbonara and crispy potato sticks. This dish is in Michel’s cookbook that I have so I knew I had to try it. The onion carbonara was so interesting and flavorful. it’s braised before adding the sauce so the onion is sweet and mild instead of raw and bitter. Look for my “at home” version soon.

Oh Mei and I also split a side of their famous macaroni and cheese. I’m picky with macaroni and cheese since I’m partial to both my “american” version and “italian” version of the dish, but this beat mine for sure. It was creamy with a crispy crust. Why is it that even if you have a great recipe, food always tastes good when someone else makes it for you?

Of course no dinner would be complete without dessert and when I saw my favorite french dessert, I got it immediately…

…chocolate mousse! It was so light, but rich and actually had a pool of raspberry sauce on the bottom- a fun surprise. The crispy, wafer-like balls in top were a nice addition and provided another texture to a normally smooth dessert.

Another dessert that Richard is known for is his Chocolate Bar- his version of a Kit-Kat. It’s milk chocolate mousse over a wafer, feuilletine bottom. I was quite satisfied after my 3-course meal, but I wanted to try it so in a to-go box it went! I can’t wait to have it tonight or tomorrow!

What a weekend! New friends and good food- the perfect combination. Thank you Uncle Henry and Aunt Lisa for a wonderful dinner and if you’re ever in the D.C. area, I highly suggest you treat yourself to Central. I promise it’ll be worth it šŸ™‚

What’s one of your favorite restaurants in the town you live in? I love suggestions from all over the country!

6 responses to “central michel richard

  1. I live in DC too! Have you ever tried Jaleo? It is soo good! They have a location in Chinatown and also in Alexandria.

    • I have! I liked it, but I have to admit that I like Oyamel (by the same company) a lot better. I felt they put too much oil on everything at Jaleo which didn’t let the fresh flavors shine as much.

  2. Wow I would love to go there…I always assumed it was crazy expensive but the menu prices actually aren’t that bad. I gotta try it out one of these days.

    My favorite nice DC restaurants are probably Creme and Rasika.

  3. Yum I am in looove with Central — one of my favorite DC restaurants. I’m going there for my birthday in April yay šŸ™‚

    Have you tried Blue Duck Tavern? It’s also really great!

  4. Looks fabulous! And I love Oyamel too. Probably my favorite tapas place I’ve ever been to.

    And I love french onion soup from a *GOOD* restaurant. Makes allll the difference. =)

Leave a Reply

