Fitbloggin’ 2010 continued

Did you miss part 1?

After breakfast, Roni started off the conference introducing herself and why she wanted to put this together. I have to say she did a fabulous job and everyone I talked with enjoyed themselves very much. Thank you Roni!

Then John and Keith from L.A. Boxing talked to us about their programs and the way they’ve grasped social media and have used it to their advantage. One of those ways has been to track a woman who’s taken their classes the past two months to lose weight, Shelley, and show her progress. She looked wonderful and has already dropped 20# and is only 15# from her goal weight.

From there, there were two tracks you could participate in depending on your interest. While I wanted to go to the talk about Blogs, Accessibility and SEO: Dispelling the Myths, but unfortunately my knees decided that wasn’t going to happen.

See I don’t run… at all. I walk miles a week and practice yoga, but my knees are not in the best shape from my former life in dance and the sides of my knees connected to my IT bands were screaming. After some Advil and ice in my hotel room, I took the rest of the time to talk with Jeff from POM Wonderful, John and Keith from L.A. Boxing and Jennifer, the twins older sister, while picking up these goodies…

I can’t wait to try them! Great people with great conversation definitely made up for the lost time 🙂

PANEL 1: Getting Noticed: How to Pitch to Traditional Media

As a PR student, some of the things the panelists spoke about I already understood and knew how to go about talking to reporters; however, it was also nice to hear straight from a news reporter, Courtney Robinson from WJLA Channel 8, and an assistant editor, Jordan Bartel from b newspaper, what they’re looking for and how they’d like to be approached with news ideas.

PANELS 2: Beyond the Blog: Getting Published with Caitlin, but I split my time between that and Body Image and Blogging: What are we teaching our kids? Both were very interesting to listen to. I don’t think I want to write a book from my blog, but I also haven’t thought about the process. Writing a book proposal is much like writing a business plan on yourself which made me think about publishing in a completely different way since I’m writing a business plan myself right now for my entrepreneurship class.

The body image panel was interesting too because it brought up some concerns about food bloggers who photograph everything they eat (and whether it’s a sign of disordered eating) and how your words and views of yourself can be rubbed onto children. For example, a mother can tell her daughter that she’s beautiful, but if the mother always criticizes her own image, her daughter may not believe her previous words and wonder if she needs to criticize herself too.

PANEL 3: Making Money From Your Blog: Should You? Could You? How?

This too was informative, but also made me very nervous. I love blogging. I have found my voice and would like to continue this even after my study is complete and while I have been happy with the page views I get after the 2 months of serious blogging I’ve done, I’m no where near a point where I could even think about making money for my writing. But at the same time, I realized I’m ok with that. I’ve made friends in a blogging community I love, I’ve gotten a great response on my posts and I have been able to express myself than I ever have before using the written word. All of those things are accomplishments so I’m content.

From there, there was a group of us who really wanted to be in the sun. So that’s what we did. We walked over to McCormick and Schmicks for some sun, the harbor, food and great conversation.

(photo taken from Anne)

(photo taken from Quinn)

Obviously bloggers! (photo taken from Anne)

Aren’t these girls wonderful?!? I have to admit I didn’t taken many pictures. There were so many cameras out that I didn’t add mine to the mix. Whoops! Bad blogger! But, the fun didn’t stop there, but after a long day, I laid low that night. Stay tuned for the last bit of fun yesterday morning…

8 responses to “Fitbloggin’ 2010 continued

  1. I didn’t take ANY pics! I win! So great meeting you lovely girl. 🙂

    • Oh well! There were so many cameras clicking away and you still have the memories in your head which is all that matters.
      It was so great meeting you too my dear! I can’t wait for the next time we can play 🙂

  2. Pingback: the last of Fitbloggin’ 2010 « the sweetest thing

  3. Oh no! I hope your knees are feeling better! Those topics sound awesome. I bet you could have added to the pitching to traditional media talk! 😉

  4. I wish I would’ve gone!!

    Maybe next time 🙂

    • Definitely! It was great, but depending on what you’re looking for, it was more about building your blog and brand. There were great vendors, but the talks weren’t very focused of health and nutrition.

  5. Pingback: the last of Fitbloggin' 2010 | one girl - three loves

  6. Pingback: pomegranate syrup | Finding Peace in Chocolate

Leave a Reply

