mustard roasted potatoes

I had seen a recipe for whole grain mustard roasted potatoes and immediately said “yum!” I love adding roasted potatoes to salads (or any roasted vegetables for that matter), but with making chili recently, I thought they’d be a nice sweet addition. Put a layer warm, spicy chili on a bed of sweet, crispy potatoes- mmm!

The only problem was I don’t have whole grain mustard in my refrigerator… but I do have a fabulous jar of balsamic-shallot mustard that I got at Dean&Deluca so I used that instead. Use whatever you have on hand, but if you still want the sweetness from the balsamic, just add about 1/2 tablespoon with 1 tablespoon of dijon or whole grain mustard for a similar effect.

Mustard Roasted Potatoes

5-6 oz of baby yellow potatoes

1 teaspoon of olive oil

1 tablespoon of your choice mustard

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

2. Rinse potatoes and peel any blemishes away. I like to leave the skin on, but if you prefer not to, peel the whole potato.

3. Cut into cubes and then toss with the olive oil, mustard, salt and pepper in a bowl to coat evenly.

4. Spread on a baking sheet and roast until browned and cooked all the way through- about 30-40 minutes.

Yum! I like them straight off of the baking sheet, but if you have to be civilized about it, they’d pair great with meat, on a salad, with chili on top or just plain 🙂

5 responses to “mustard roasted potatoes

  1. thanks for the kale chips today love!

    • Of course! I’m sorry I ate most of them quickly 😦 My metabolism and thus hunger has been out of control lately. I’m eating everything in site!

  2. For some reason I don’t use mustard to flavor things when I’m making sauces. This sounds good though 🙂

  3. balancejoyanddelicias

    I just found recently that mustard to be a great ingredients for cooking as well. 🙂

  4. Thanks for the recipe! These look delicious!

Leave a Reply

