going with the flow

Happy Monday!

I woke up with this beauty in a bowl so my week’s obviously starting off well despite the rain…

It was 1/3 cup of my oatmeal mix made with 1/2 cup of almond milk + 1/2 cup of water + cinnamon + nutmeg and then topped with strawberries + frozen raspberries (so convenient and tasty when raspberries are expensive) + shredded coconut + drizzled, melty cocoa bliss! Why didn’t I try this before?!?!?! Well I know why- it was the price- but it’s so worth it. Yummmm…..

But let’s talk about this weekend. How was yours? Except for some fun on Saturday night for my friend Julie’s birthday…

…mine was dedicated to work. Icky I know, but I only have about a month left so I really can’t complain. But along with that lovely statement of “only a month left,” there’s the “what’s next?”

Honestly, I’m not sure what’s next. It’s too early to search seriously into PR jobs and while I’d love to work in a field that I’ve majored in, I’m having so much fun writing to you on here. It’s given me a space and a voice to talk about something I’m passionate about and luckily, I’ve reached more than I could have ever imagined.

Because of that, I’m thinking of graduate programs to gain the creditability I’d need to work for either a PR firm or magazine in the future. I’m currently look at George Washington University (for Public Health Communication and Global Health) and Tufts University (for Nutrition Communication). Both of those programs would allow me to continue to do what I love to talk about and fit right in with the project I’m thinking of and looking for grants for. However, if I’m applying, I need more prerequisites so I’ll be writing,  learning (with more class) and working too. Busy busy, but I like it that way and you can’t complain when you love what you’re doing.

The best part of trying to piece everything together is the fact that I don’t know exactly what’s going to happen. Now you might be saying, “What?!?! How would that be a good thing?” and frankly, even last summer, I would have told you that I love everything planned out. I still do, but at the same time, especially since finding myself in this study and blog, I’ve found that the best things have come from just taking things day by day.

That’s what I had to do during my recovery when even though I hated getting better, it was the right thing. Now, I’m long past those horribly painful days, but even being healthy, I still take those baby steps. When you plan out life, life always seems to have another plan- and most times for the better so why fight it? We have to make every effort to follow what we love and make things happen for ourselves, but you never know who the next person you’ll meet will be. How fun is that? Well fun and maybe a little scary, but as my dad always says, “life’s an adventure” so I might as well listen… for once.

Are you a planner or more spontaneous? Even though I’m learning to go with the flow, I wish I was more spontaneous. I like my schedule!

How do you handle things as they come? I think they’re exciting, but I’m always uneasy. But nothing comes from being afraid, right?

6 responses to “going with the flow

  1. I’m typically a planner, but I’m going the spontaneous route with what I’m going to do after graduation!

  2. This is such a wonderful post, and exactly what I needed to hear today. I’m in limbo right now, trying to figure out what my career path will be, and it’s really starting to get me down. It’s like I know my future holds great and exciting things, but I am such a planner that I can hardly stand being in this stage of not knowing what’s coming next. Your post has inspired me to at least try to go with the flow more, taking it day by day! Thanks! 🙂

    • Awww! I’m so glad this helped! It’s hard sometimes to figure out what you want, but follow your instincts. They’re hardly ever wrong and even if it’s not the best idea on paper, if you’re happy, that’s all that matters!

  3. I am a little of both a planner and go with flow kind of person, it depends on the situation.

  4. I think you are making the right choice keeping your options open. Both those programs sound awesome. It will all come together. Keep that open mind.

Leave a Reply

