hula hopping isn’t just for kids…

I saw this article in the NYTimes back when it was written one month ago and thought hey, that looks fun. I used to love hula hooping as a child and was actually quite good at it (if I do say so myself).

See when I was young, I had pretty wide hips for my age. I basically had the hips I have now at 24, but on a child’s body. Some people grow into their ears, their nose, whatever… I grew into my hips. However, this did make hula hooping easier since the hoop would just sit right on top and I could go for hours- no fighting your body, just use it 🙂

Even though I thought hula hooping would be a fun addition to a workout routine after reading the article (I mean why not?), I still haven’t bought one and don’t know if I will, but let me tell you, it’s a workout that I forgot about.

For my PR portfolio class, we hosted an event on AU’s quad on Wednesday afternoon to raise money for our client, Arlington Academy of Hope. It was a hot, summer-like day and perfect for playing games and having an ice cream. Ninety-degree weather makes convincing people to get an ice cream for $1 an easy task and because of how generous AU students are relating to causes, we were able to raise $240 in 3 hours!  There was also four square, hopscotch, balls, and the one and only, hula hoops.

Instead of standing or sitting around, I decided to grab a hula hoop and hoop most of the time for fun. I even got Jess to join me for a while 🙂

It’s safe to say that I hooped for 1.5-2 hours out of the 3 we were outside! Was I doing it for the workout? No, but let me tell you, my abs were sore the next day! I had no idea! Not only was it fun (and as the article said, “playful”), but it definitely gave me a complete core workout.

What was your favorite recess game growing up? Have you hula hooped recently?

3 responses to “hula hopping isn’t just for kids…

  1. That is awesome! And GREAT JOB on the quick sales! Love to see a school’s students supporting their own and a great cause. I have the hips, but can’t seem to get the hula hoopin down, I’ll have to give it another shot 🙂

  2. Hi Jacqui ~ There’s a large community of Hoopers in the DMV. Come hoops with us: http://www.hoopdancedc.com & http://www.dchoopcollective.com.

Leave a Reply

