celebrity or not, we’re all the same

Well yesterday’s post about Julie Henderson definitely got people talking and in a good way… Now we just have to try to take that conversation from this blog and to other women so they can see our society’s ideals and find their own beauty.

Linking up to that discussion, I wanted to talk about a woman I met at the NEDA panel. In case you missed my summaries of that event, you can click here to read part 1 and part 2.

Now I have to say that I usually don’t get worked up over celebrities. Yes, I’ve been known to flip through some magazines like People and US Magazine to past the time, but not because I can’t wait to know what happened to whomever. I always had the idea that they were really just like us, but had people actually follow their every move because of the work they’ve done and frankly, I knew I’d never want that attention.

However, at the panel, it made me think about who is truly a celebrity or a role model to you. Is it that movie star or is it a writer? All the panelists were successful and passionate about what they were doing and while they might not be a celebrity by our societal standards, you don’t know how happy I was to be able to talk to some of these leaders in their respective fields on a topic we all love.

But there was one celebrity in the fashion industry who was at the panel and a NEDA Ambassador, Emme.

(source)

For those of you who do not know, Emme is known for being the world’s first full-figured supermodel and full-figured model to have a cosmetics contract with Revlon. Then as a host of E! Entertainment Television’s “Fashion Emergency.” she became an icon not only in the U.S, but around the world. She’s been on many television programs like The Oprah Winfrey Show, Good Morning America, 20/20, The Rachel Ray Show and Entertainment Tonight, in magazines like People’s “50 Most Beautiful People” twice and has also spoken to many women on body image, greener living and  surviving cancer. Inspiring, right?

I had seen in the pamphlet that she would be there and was excited to hear her perspective, but in true Jacquie fashion, I arrived early so I just started to talk to people here and there. There was a group of three women talking and one started to bring me into the group to tell me about her newest venture in this field to stop fat talk. While it wasn’t something that got me excited, I’m still impressed by the amount of voices there are trying to help women succeed.  After we finished talking, another woman from the group came up to me and asked me why I was there. I told her bits of my story and the project I was working on, but was instantly drawn to her warmth. She told me about the Body Image Council, an organization in relation to NEDA which she’s starting to put together and before parting, we said we’d talk more after the panel.

I found my seat and waited for my friend Stephanie to meet me since it was about to start when it hit me… I had just talked with Emme.

I was floored and felt terribly silly. There she was, a well-known and highly regarded woman, and I didn’t recognize her 😦

After the panel, we were both busy speaking to people, but I was able to say goodbye quickly before she left for a interview. She gave me her card as I apologized for not realizing it was her at the beginning when we met.

You’re a woman. I’m a woman. We’re both here for this cause and that’s it.

It’s so straight-forward. It’s so true and just solidified my first thought about celebrities from the beginning of this story. Celebrities, no matter how well-known they are, at the end of the day, they’re just like you or me. She wasn’t “Emme, the model” at the panel, but “Emme, the NEDA Ambassador and body image advocate.” She was a woman there who was just as concerned and interested as I was about these issues, but was able to share some knowledge because of her experiences.

I have since talked with her and might I say again that she’s so down to earth and warm- just like my first impression- and I can’t wait to talk with her more.

Have you ever met a celebrity- either by society standards or your own? Who and did you actually recognize them?

One response to “celebrity or not, we’re all the same

  1. That is great, she sounds like an amazing woman. I’ve yet to meet a celebrity but it’s nice to know there are some out there who are down to earth.

Leave a Reply

