reflections

I never thought I’d be in a sorority. I was seriously against it during my freshman year because I thought I wasn’t going to change to fit in with a group of girls. Growing up I had my group of girlfriends, but most of my friends were guys. I was used to talking with my best friend Ryan and hearing “mmhmmm” “yea” “ok” on the other side because he was playing Madden. I was used to a no-drama policy which also meant I was used to a say-it-how-it-is mentality too so how could I fit in with hundreds of girls?

Well when I was back at Elon for my sophomore year, I couldn’t deny the fact that about 30% of undergrads were in greek life. One of my friends, Jenn, knew my aversion to sorority life, but had rushed the semester before and invited to go to an ice cream social at her sorority’s house that fall. At the time, I thought why not? and also yum, free ice cream! so I went and  actually knew more girls than I thought. It was a great time. What I didn’t know at first was that it was an event for the beginning of the informal rush process.

The next week I was offered a pansy and an bid to informally rush that fall semester. After thinking about it, I decided to rush not only because it was informal and not as intense, but also because I had really loved the girls.

That sorority and the one I’m so lucky to be apart of is Delta Delta Delta.

Known for their work with St Jude Children’s Hospital, Tri-Delta also has developed a program called Reflections that is designed to prevent eating disorders among sorority communities. Ever heard of Fat Talk Free Week?

That’s the main communications campaign during the year from this program and has gotten a country-wide response not only from the Tri-Delta chapters, but body image advocates and universities that still have the program without a Tri-Delta chapter on campus.

I’ve been wanting to get involved with the program since I learned about it late last year, but even though I’m a Tri-Delta, there isn’t a chapter on campus and because I’m not apart of another sorority on campus, I’ve had to wait it out. Imagine my happiness though when I was contacted by the Executive office a few weeks ago to write a guest post for their fan page and their blog🙂

I turned it in today and will let you know when it’s up for you to view it, but in the mean time, I suggest you watch this year’s Fat Talk Free Walk video. It’s so moving and gives a great message.

Is there a program or organization you disliked before and then you joined? Were you a part of a sorority and if so, what was your experience? I loved my experience with Tri-Delta for what it stood for, but also because it was a new chapter on campus (I was in the beta class) so we got to make new traditions.

5 responses to “reflections

  1. My younger sister is a Tri Delt, and some of my best friends were in college too! They do phenomenal work for St. Jude’s!

  2. I do not consider myself to be a typical sorority girl at all…but luckily at my school the sororities are smaller and not so much like the stereotypical sororities. It was one of the best decisions I made – I met a ton of strong, confident girls who became my best friends and in hindsight recruitment really helped me develop networking/talking-to-strangers skills.

    • I had a similar experience and actually my sisters helped me finish my sophomore year when I was sick to I thank that community tremendously. I understand why sororities have had a bad reputation and why some still continue, but the key is staying true to who you are and then finding that one group, not the other way around. If you don’t like their practices or what they stand for then it’s not for you 🙂

  3. I didn’t have any previous attitudes towards sororities before I joined Phi Mu. I loved my experience with the organization. I truly believe it made the difference on how I developed as a leader and as an employee over the years. I still try to participate in our local alum group, but I can never make it to meetings 😦

    • Awww I understand. I was going to join an alumni chapter of Tri-Delta since the chapter isn’t here on campus, but I haven’t had the time 😦 Hopefully we both will be able to soon!

Leave a Reply

