what’s your favorite color?

I might be the only one, but red roses just don’t get me excited. Now, I won’t complain if a guy brings me them, but I like to be different and if you want to really impress me, I love pink flowers…

No, no one special got these for me. I got them myself, but seriously, how can you not smile?

I love pink fruit. Strawberries, raspberries, pink lady apples (kind of pink, but at least it’s in the name πŸ˜‰ ) and cherries are all my favorites actually.

Obviously there are pink notes laying around…

Don’t worry though I’m not THAT obsessed as I’m usually a black, brown, white and gray kind of person; however some pink accents to go a long way don’t you think?

However, there is one thing that I love in the springtime that is both pink AND a vegetable…

RHUBARB!

It originated in Asia over 2,000 years ago where the leaves and the roots were used primarily of medicinal purposes, but don’t try to make anything at home as the leaves are actually toxic if not prepared correctly.

It wasn’t until the 1700’s that the stalks of the plant were used in the kitchen in England and the U.S. It’s about 95% water and contains a fair source of potassium, vitamin C, dietary fiber and low in sodium. One cup of diced rhubarb is only 26 calories and when prepared with sweet strawberries always shows me that spring is here.

I had seen this recipe for poached rhubarb last week by Helen and knew I wanted to make it. Can we just swoon over her pictures for a moment, please?

Ok, I’m done; however, if I could take pictures like that, I’d be a happy girl! Anyway, back to the rhubarb…

Nicely, when I went to Whole Foods the other day, they had put some rhubarb right next to the strawberries that were on sale. Now there’s marketing at it’s best, but I have to say it worked since I ended up making her recipe… with my own twist.Β This recipe is super simple and was a refreshing topping for coconut ice cream ice cream last night and my usual oatmeal this morning. Some oatmeal with strawberries, poached rhubarb and coconut… it’s like dessert for breakfast! Who said healthy had to be bland and boring?!? Not me!

I cooked the rhubarb a little more than the original recipe because I wanted more of a sauce, but feel free to do it whichever way you prefer πŸ™‚

Poached Rhubarb Sauce

3 stalks of rhubarb

1/2 cup coconut water (or regular water or even wine for a more elegant dessert, but knowing I’d want it as an oatmeal topping, I left this out πŸ˜‰ )

1 tablespoon maple syrup

1 tablespoon honey

juice of half a lemon

splash of vanilla

Directions

1. In a pot, add the coconut water (or water or white wine), syrup, honey, lemon juice and vanilla. Bring to a boil.

2. While that comes to temperature, rinse and cut the rhubarb into pieces.

3. Once the liquid mixture is boiling, add the rhubarb and cook for 2-3 minutes if you want the pieces whole like Helen’s recipe or 5 minutes if you want more of a chunky sauce like me.

3 responses to “what’s your favorite color?

  1. Love it! I keep seeing rhubarb, but I have no clue what to do with it! Now I do! Thanks!

  2. Strawberry rhubarb pie in the summer is my all time favorite. Add a little scoop of vanilla ice cream and it makes it even better…mmm i’m making myself hungry now.

  3. My Husband loves rhubarb pie and asks for it, but I don’t even know where to start. Maybe I’ll get some.

Leave a Reply

